Remember the Rainbow in Your Heart

kristina leonardi
4 min readJun 21, 2022

Be sure to laugh and play in order to keep the boogie-man away!

Photo credit/Logo: Kristina Leonardi

With things so intense lately, you may be feeling more uncertainty, anxiety, anger, fear and doubt than usual. I am certainly not immune to it all, so waking up on a recent Sunday morning and seeing this unsolicited IG story shout-out by my adorable neighbor friend and poet Natalie, who was inspired to talk about my book while on vacation, was a true gift from the Universe!

In her post, she talks about my new affirmations book Say It To Make It: “It’s colorful so it will always make you happy — it’s basically a rainbow that you can carry around with you everywhere you go.” Her kind words, enthusiasm and sparkly energy were just what the doctor ordered to lift my spirits! (Note the beautiful circle of how that rippled out and back: Natalie benefited from my creativity and then I benefited from hers, which was inspired by mine! #itsallconnected) We all have the power to bring joy to one another. (P.S. Check out Natalie’s poetry books and blog here.)

Later that day, I got together with one of my dearest and most talented friends, Alex. We were then inspired by our mutual brilliant, creative and hilarious friend Danny (whom we lost 15 years ago) and spontaneously did some very silly videos for my book. Check out and follow my Instagram (especially stories and highlight reels) if you want to see another side of me practicing what I preach! ;)

I often talk about how we need to focus more of our attention on acknowledging, cultivating and feeling beauty, and about the importance of making joy, creativity, fun and humor/laughter a bigger part of our lives.

We must consider them a necessity — not a luxury — to nourish ourselves and each other in mind, body and spirit. We must make them a priority, not an afterthought or once-in-a-while occurrence, realizing the beneficial and healing aspects they provide.

They can also disarm and dispel challenging times and people, whether directly or indirectly, trusting that the positive, uplifting vibes go out into the collective “soup.”

Not feeling like you have it in you to smile or laugh? You’re probably a little emotionally constipated — meaning you gotta feel and process the crappy (no pun intended) feelings in order to have more capacity for the pleasant ones as I mention in our blooper/outtake video description here, i.e., why I had so much inner space and freedom to feel joy that day! Also, sometimes the silly times are how you process the crappy ones …

And if you’re looking for something bright, positive, tangible and, as Natalie says, “full of things you probably need to hear,” make sure you get a copy of my book Say It To Make It: Affirmations to Empower the Heart, Mind, Spirit and Soul. Purchase on Amazon here, and if you do, please consider writing a review and/or posting anything about it on social media with the hashtag #sayittomakeit. Click here for all the IG posts so far, and scroll down to learn more and read what others are saying!

For related thoughts on these topics, read my essays Beauty and the Beast and Smile in Your Liver.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Get essays like this delivered every Friday to your mailbox (with an introductory note about current events) as my PGG newsletter by texting CLEARLYKRISTINA to 22828 to join my mailing list.

Click here to learn more about Kristina Leonardi coaching and other services.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Kristina Leonardi is a nationally recognized career and life coach, speaker and author who for over 14 years has empowered individuals to make lasting professional and personal changes aligned with their true passions and talents while fulfilling their role in the world at large.With a holistic and personal growth-oriented approach, she has helped hundreds of men and women over the past decade improve their job performance, enter or re-enter the job force, change careers, better manage their time and stress, and live happier, more meaningful, balanced lives. Her specialty is working with people who feel stuck or are in transition and can help you clarify exactly what you want to do, identify blocks, issues, and patterns in your way, and offer proven ideas, resources, and action steps to get you there.

Click here for info about Kristina’s coaching and speaking services

Follow on Facebook and Instagram and Twitter for up to date posts, helpful articles and inspirational thoughts. Slowly building my YouTube channel so you check that out and subscribe too!

Check out my books Personal Growth Gab:Personal Growth Gab (PGG) Volume One: Thought-provoking, inspirational and entertaining essays to keep you connected to yourself and make sense of this journey called Life and Say It To Make It: Affirmations to Empower the Heart, Mind, Spirit and Soul on Amazon

If you like what I write, you’ll love what I have to say in person!

Click here for info about my coaching and speaking services

Click here for some testimonials from past clients

Click here for a video that explains some ways in which I can help you

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Read over 100-star “Yelp” style reviews here

Join Mailing List

Read more about me and my work in these past PGG’s:

All Roads, Same Place | And Now, A Word from Our Sponsor | Strong Medicine | 10,000 Hours | A Decade of Doing What I Do | Express Yourself

--

--

kristina leonardi

Speaker,Coach,Writer.Very Tall. Expertise:People. All kinds, what makes 'em tick, how they fit into the world, how they can best connect to themselves + others.